Spring is balancing twice twelve hours
the air whispers that good things go far
In the twilight bare trees collect their powers
dancing in the headlights of a car

Surrounded by dusk, tables form lit up little islands
inviting me to a drink, a cigarette
Offering a liminal resting place where I can fill the silence
with memories of the things you said

I wish I was on your mind
like something that’s always in your pocket
Kept safe as a propitious find
or a picture in a locket

By the time the night turns grey
dust whirls up in an imagined room
One last cigarette and nothing to say
long fingers of smoke caress the gloom

I look at pictures in empty frames
and I whisper all your names
©Eva Weggelaar

One thought on “And I whisper all your names – Eva Weggelaar

Leave a Reply

