I lie on the perfumed grass
where the flowers reflect the colours of the dawn
in the warm honey light that falls on the lawn
and worship your reflection in the glass

Paradise is this way
where I hear your pen on paper, scratch
and for once, all I want to catch
is every second of this day

No time like the present, now
the light is only ever on when you are near
what the sun is to those flowers are you to me, my dear
and I’d freeze frame if I knew how

If you’d say you’re happy here, I think
I could keep your image in the French window
harvest the sun’s honey and know
I caught its sparkles in my drink

But when all is said and done
I’d prefer your dusk to day and your shadow to the sun
©Eva Weggelaar

One thought on “Paradise is this Way – Eva Weggelaar

Leave a Reply

