Once more the hare went on his way crying and met a cock with a scythe.
“Cock-a-doodle-doo! Why are you crying, hare?”
“Leave me alone, cock! Who wouldn’t cry? I had a house of wood, while the fox had one of ice. She invited herself into mine and drove me out.”
“Come along with me, I’ll chase her out.”
“No, you won’t,” said the hare. “The dogs tried and failed; the bear tried and failed; the ox tried and failed. You’ll fare no better.”
“Oh, yes I-will.” So they went up to the house. “Cock-a-doodle-doo! I’ll cut that fox in two with my scythe so sharp and true!”
When the fox heard that, she took fright and called, “I’m getting dressed.” Again the cock crowed: “Cock-a-doodle-doo! I’ll cut that fox in two with my scythe so sharp and true!” And the fox cried: “I’m putting on my fur coat.” A third time the cock crowed: “Cock-a-doodle-doo! I’ll cut that fox in two with my scythe so sharp and true!” The fox rushed out of the door and the cock cut off her head.
So the hare and the cock lived together happily ever after
-Collected and edited by Michael Terletski-

Yuri Norstein made a lovely ten-minute animation movie of this Russian fairy tale. Because sometimes, you need a rooster with a scythe 🙂

13043508_783273801808927_9219443473616284511_n

 

Illustration: Ohara Koson
Photograph: Jan Weggelaar

 

Leave a Reply

